Thursday, 22 January 2009 15:39

The Golden Seal released on CD

Written by
Rate this item
(0 votes)

Share this post

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Golden Seal CDLabel: Intrada Special Collection Volume 89
Date: 1983
Tracks: 21
Time = 61:59

Treat for John Barry fans! World premiere release of complete original soundtrack Barry scored with co-composer Dana Kaproff for Frank Zuniga adventure about family living in Aleutian islands, starring Steve Railsback, Michael Beck. Barry supplied several impressive cues, Kaproff worked with those themes plus created several ideas of his own. Results are coherent, beautiful, exciting music! Main theme is warm, other ideas range from pastorale to dramatic. Barry's "The Frolic" is outstanding sequence melding both warm theme for strings with dynamic, regal splendor for brass. Intrada newly masters entire CD from actual 1/2" 3-track stereo session masters vaulted at MGM in mint condition, includes all original LP contents plus several previously unreleased cues. Amongst new highlights is Barry's lengthy, dramatic "Broken Promise". CD also has original End Title song "Letting Go" by John Barry & Don Black, sung by Glen Campbell plus both LP version of Main Title (with water & bird effects), premiere of newly remixed version without effects. Complete breakdown of each composer's work plus informative notes by Jeff Bond complete generous package. John Barry supervises, Dana Kaproff conducts. Intrada Special Collection release limited to 2000 copies!

01. Main Title 2:17
02. Semeyon & Voyage 2:42 Hear This Track
03. First Glimpse 0:33
04. The Legend Of The Golden Seal 2:01
05. Something In The Air 0:59
06. Williwa 3:28
07. The Bridge 1:36 Hear This Track
08. Face To Face 4:11
09. The Frolic 4:29 Hear This Track
10. I’ll Be Back 0:39
11. Wait A Minute 1:40
12. Swimming Lessons 2:26 Hear This Track
13. Broken Promise 4:00 Hear This Track
14. In The Water 1:19

15. Close Call 2:14
16. The Choice 3:00 Hear This Track
17. You’re Safe Now 2:16
18. Goodbye 5:08 Hear This Track
19. Letting Go (Vocal by Glen Campbell) 3:29

     Total Score Time: 49:23

Bonus Tracks
20. Country Source 9:57
21. The Story Begins [LP Version With Water & Bird Effects] 2:36

     Bonus Track Time: 12:36

Read 2688 times

Our other sites

Geoff Leonard writes CD booklet notes, articles, and occasionally books, in partnership with Pete Walker. You can read more about this here:


John Barry related Events or Concerts

Submit your Event or Concert, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. We will not be responsible for any errors or inaccuracies.



Geoff (owner) and Ruud (webmaster) have been running the John Barry website since June 18, 2001. This website is not endorsed by the composer's family.

John Barry - The Man With The Midas Touch, the definitive website
dedicated to Britain's foremost composer of film and TV music.